Frozen Nostalgia

via Daily Prompt: Trace

Hello everyone. Something happened today that inspired the theme of today’s blog post. In my previous posts, I’ve talked about my love for cooking. Love for cooking evolves from a love of eating, doesn’t it? I absolutely love food. I love trying out different cuisines, exploring new cafes and restaurants, watching cooking shows like Masterchef Australia, Chopped and Top Chef. But there’s a catch. I’m a lacto-vegetarian. It’s a bummer that I can’t cook each and every dish on Masterchef. So, I am a little biased towards desserts.

I will share my cooking history some other day.

Today’s post is about one of my favourite things to eat: Ice-cream. It’s May 31, 2017. So, I went to Baskin Robbins with my father and my little sister. They have a 31% discount on the 31st of every month. Maybe because of my vacations, since my mind is relaxed, I have been able to see and feel things that went unnoticed before. My sister discovered that a flavour that we used to love had been discontinued. That triggered my mind to retrace our steps all the way back to the first time we ever visited this shop. It was 15 years ago. Then, all of a sudden, a flavour caught my eyes.

Malted Chocolate Fudge. The first ice-cream flavour I’ve eaten of BR. So much has changed over these years. We don’t live in the same house anymore, I don’t go to school anymore, even the adjacent restaurants have changed. But Baskin Robbins is still here. You can imagine how much ice-cream I must’ve eaten over the years. So many different flavours: Mississippi Mud, Belgian Bliss, Swiss Affair(discontinued), World Class Chocolate, Coffee, Bavarian Chocolate and many others.

There’s a pattern here, right? Except Coffee, all the flavours are chocolate-based. But, I tried something different today. In normal circumstances, I would never try the flavours I did today. But since I watched ‘The One With All The Resolutions’ of F.R.I.E.N.D.S this morning, like Ross, I wanted to do something new. These are the flavours I tried: Lime and Lemon Cooler and Splish Splash.

IMG-20170531-WA0006

They were good, but Chocolate will always be my first and last love. Ice-cream is always a mood elevator, isn’t it? When your homework is driving you crazy, or when there’s too much melodrama, or just hungry.

My favourite flavour is Bavarian Chocolate. For me, it may be the best flavour I’ve ever tasted. It’s a silky smooth, rich, chocolate ice-cream with traces of white chocolate chips and nuts, which give a textural variety. Recently, we’ve started eating Bavarian Knight, a rolled cake with the ice-cream in it. It’s pure chocolate bliss.

From watching all these cooking shows, I’d always wanted to try nitro-ice-cream. A shop opened in the city a few months ago. It’s called Creamistry. It’s one of a kind here. I’ve read a lot about this, and I was really excited to try it. Obviously it’s pricier than regular ice-cream, but it was worth the bucks. Here’s a picture from our first visit to the shop.

161005054655

That was all about me eating ice-cream. What about making it at home? Well, I’ve tried to make ice-cream just once. Wasn’t really a success. Firstly, I didn’t have an ice-cream maker. So, I had to stir the mixture occasionally with a spoon to break the ice crystals. It was okay, but not really edible. So, to not let it go to waste, I made it into a béchamel sauce. (Diluting the sweetness was a nightmare!)

Lastly, I would like to share a quote from Julia Child.

‘People who love to eat are always the best people’

Apart from satisfying your hunger, there’s a lot food can teach you. But that’s a story for another post. I would just like to say that food has helped me grow as a writer and also as a person. It has taken my imagination to a whole new level, which has helped me write better stories. The only other thing that has ever done that is music. I hold both these things very dear to me, just can’t imagine my life without them.

Well then, that’s all for today.

Bon appétit!!!

Saying this, I go from here.

 Trace

Leave a Reply

