As Good As Before….

via Daily Prompt: Replacement

I always ponder upon the phenomena of attachment. Attachment isn’t love, but sometimes it is stronger. People are hard to let go because they are irreplaceable. Life won’t give you another family. But there are also a section who get more attached to things than humans. Why? Most materialistic things are replaceable, right?

A lot of people hold on to the toys that they used to play with when they were younger. I still have my Pikachu soft toy that I used to hug when I slept at night. It is a memento of my childhood. It doesn’t have its famous lightning tail. It had a moustache stitched onto its face when I bought it. But I used to  prefer it over any other toy. Why couldn’t I replace it with a cushion or another toy? How can an inanimate object have that effect on a person?

01b263f565b1c82a3794aa2e7c0fb156

I got my answer when I grew up. There was a part of me that wasn’t ready to let go of my childhood. Undoubtedly, it was the best phase of my life. But there are so many other things life has to offer. And a time comes when the addition limit is reached and it’s time for replacement. I can’t accommodate my Lord of The Rings if I don’t let go of my colouring books. Time brings change, and that change requires space.

There are people who are overly attached to their clothes. As portrayed in the movie, 27 Dresses, in which the protagonist hesitated to throw away her bridesmaid dresses, her reason being the memories attached to those outfits. 27-dresses-27-dresses-5423273-1200-675

People’s reason for replacing clothes is because they don’t fit them anymore. They’re right. Unbeknown to them, growing out of clothes isn’t just associated to measurements, but also psychological maturity. Those clothes suited you at that particular age. If you still hold on to the green cardigan you wore on the first day of school, then where will you keep your new prom dress, and every new outfit that would bring you joy.

Attachment to the past is also accompanied by attachment to people. Holding onto your boyfriend’s tissues when you’re together isn’t going to make you any happier  and throwing his every belonging in your possession post break-up isn’t going to erase the painful memories. As precious as they may be, they are still things. They don’t hold any feelings or emotions. If you will say they have memories, then you should realise that the memories are in your mind, and they will stay even when that object is gone. So don’t hesitate to occasional replacement.

bfe519b99913bd448547a9db8faca242

If you think the contemporary won’t be as good as the ancient, you aren’t allowing yourself a fresh start.

Saying this, I go from here.

P.S: All the photos belong to their respective owners.

People may have a different opinion about my thoughts. I just want you to understand that I don’t mean to offend anyone with this blog.

<a href="https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/replacement/">Replacement</a>

 

Leave a Reply

